Have you fallen for the smartphone curse?

Ways you can keep yourself healthy and happy in a crazy world!

By: Paige Quinter @paigepossible 

Let’s face it! The times of peace and quiet disappeared the minute smartphones entered this world. People can check their emails, tweet a picture of a pet and browse the web all from the palm of their hand. We are constantly connected and almost obsessed with these devices.

I am guilty of falling into the “smartphone curse” as I like to call it. I find myself waking up in the morning and checking my Twitter account before I even get out of bed. I’ll see what my friends are up to on Facebook before I end my night.

One morning I was watching the Today Show and a segment on smartphones and finding time to disconnect came on. A doctor spoke about the cons of a world driven by smartphones. I had to stop and listen.

As a society, we don’t take breaks from the stress of a job or school because we are constantly connected. We never just relax without a device glued to our hands. This doctor said it was important to disconnect from the world, shut your eyes and meditate. The stress in a society powered by technology and work can affect a person’s health. Turning off your smartphone and meditating for 15 minutes can help anyone refocus, relax and strengthen his or her ability to think.

The problem with smartphones occurs when a person comes home after a day of work or classes and continues to look at emails, text and check all of his or her social media accounts. I watch television and check my phone every time it rings. If I go to the gym for an hour, I have 10-20 emails waiting for me.

How can a device that has given us more access and opened many doors cause more stress in our lives?

I think the creation of smartphones has been a positive aspect to our growing and powerful society, but with every pro there is a con. There will always be consequences for having the latest and greatest; however, you need to find time to disconnect.  I stress this idea because as we near the end of the semester, we need to keep healthy and focused.

Some ways to keep relaxed during the next few weeks:

  1. Taking a 5 minute walk between study sessions can energize you
  2. Closing your eyes for 10-15 minutes can reduce anxiety
  3. Meditating can help calm your nerves and cut down on the stress
  4. Doing some yoga can keep your relaxed and on track

Remember to keep a healthy balance between work/school and relaxation. You will be better at your job or as a student if you take the time to disconnect and focus on yourself.

“Sometimes it’s important to work for that pot of gold.  But other times it’s essential to take time off and to make sure that your most important decision in the day simply consists of choosing which color to slide down on the rainbow.” -Douglas Pagels

_______________

Paige is currently pursuing a Strategic Communication major, as well as a minor in Professional Writing, and she plans to graduate in the spring of 2013.  She is currently working for the PRactice with OSU LiFE Sports as an Account Executive.

2 thoughts on “Have you fallen for the smartphone curse?

  1. I already read this once, but decided to go back and read it again. Definitely a great post, Paige! I find myself losing my mind if I can’t find my phone and if I have ANY emails or notifications, I have to check them immediately. I am sometimes scared by how much our society depends on our smartphones. I really enjoy this post because it highlights some ways everyone can become less dependent on technology and take a break from constantly tweeting, texting, emailing, etc. I plan on trying some of these tips next time I feel too dependent on technology. Thanks again for the great insight, Paige!

Leave a comment